Part 1: Setting up the Raspberry Pi hardware

This is part of a series of posts related to My Internet of Things and MobileFirst adventure.  An index to all posts can be found at the end of the first post.

A couple days later, my vigil at the mailbox was rewarded – my Raspberry Pi starter kit arrived.  Since I was too cheap to pay for express shipping, the camera wouldn’t arrive for a couple more days.  That was fine with me – I had plenty to learn about the Pi before dealing with the camera.

Unpacking and firing up the Raspberry Pi

I pulled out a spare USB keyboard, mouse and network cable and plugged the Pi into an HDMI monitor.  My starter kit came with a micro-SD card pre-loaded with the NOOBS (New Out Of the Box Software) so I inserted that.  I plugged in the device and away it went.  Initializing the Raspberry Pi was extremely easy.  I went with the recommended Raspian OS and had the GUI running in no time.

Wifi

My starter kit came with a wifi USB dongle.  I plugged that in and configured the wifi settings through the GUI.

Wifi Configuration in the Raspberry Pi GUI

Wifi Configuration

With the Pi on my home wifi network, I could shell into it from my Macbook.  That’s handy because having an extra keyboard and mouse cluttering up my already cluttered desk was going to be a pain.  Now I could talk to the device without needing an external monitor or peripherals.

Circuits

Being an old hardware guy, I went straight for the breadboard and circuit components that came with my starter kit.  I set up a push button with a 10k pull-down resistor that I could use as an input and a LED with a 2.2k series resister I could use as an output for testing.  My kit even came with a GPIO to Breadboard Interface Board which made it easy to connect the Pi to the breadboard.  I connected my pushbutton circuit to BCM_GPIO 18 on physical pin 12 and my LED circuit to BCM GPIO 25 on physical pin 22.  Here is a view of the circuit:

Test circuits on breadboard

Test circuits

Ok, now I have all the hardware configured.  I just need to figure out how to control it with software.  That’s a task for the next post.

3 thoughts on “Part 1: Setting up the Raspberry Pi hardware

  1. Pingback: My Internet of Things and MobileFirst adventure – Part 1 | Dennis Schultz's Blog

  2. Pingback: My Internet of Things and MobileFirst adventure – Part 3: Raspberry Pi software | Dennis Schultz's Blog

Leave a Reply

